Skip to content

PSA Value returns at $39.99—what does the extra $7 buy?

PSA announced Value's October 29 return at $39.99 per card, with a $500 insured-value cap and estimated turnaround.

PSA Value returns at $39.99—what does the extra $7 buy?

PSA’s October 28, 2026 announcement scheduled Value grading to reopen October 29 at $39.99 per card, with a $500 maximum insured value and an estimated U.S. turnaround of 90–100 business days . For Pokémon TCG collectors, that restores a lower-priced submission option, according to PSA’s announcement.

What does PSA Value’s extra $7 buy?

Illustration of a bright graded card beside front-and-back images and a $7 price-increase tag.
Illustration: AI-generated

The extra $7 buys restored access to PSA Value; PSA’s announcement does not identify an added benefit over the previous service . Current inclusions include standard front-and-back images of the graded card, according to PSA’s service listing. Those images should not be presented as a newly added feature.

Quick Answer: PSA Value returns at $39.99 per card , restoring a lower-priced grading option. The higher fee does not establish faster processing, greater coverage or another added benefit over the previous service. Standard front-and-back images are included in the current offering, according to PSA.

Heavy reports that Value previously cost $32.99 per card. Comparing that figure with the new $39.99 fee gives a calculated increase of $7, or approximately 21.2% . That measures the price change, not an improvement in service.

The practical distinction is availability versus an upgrade. Collectors can assess the reopened tier against their budget and willingness to wait, but should not treat the surcharge as payment for expedited handling. PSA describes turnaround times as estimates, rather than promised completion dates.

When did PSA announce Value’s return, and where can collectors submit?

PSA announced Value’s return on October 28, 2026, with submissions scheduled to reopen on October 29 at 8 a.m. Pacific across the United States, Canada, Europe and Japan . That reopening date has passed. Collectors should use PSA’s official submission channel for their region, following the regional service information in PSA’s reopening announcement.

There is a potentially confusing mismatch on the U.S. trading-card grading page: its updated table lists Value at $39.99 per card while a remaining heading says Value services are temporarily paused . The dated announcement supports the reported return and supplies the reopening chronology. The leftover heading should therefore be read alongside that announcement, rather than treated on its own as evidence of another suspension.

Before sending cards, enter the applicable regional submission flow and check that Value is selectable for the intended order. Review the displayed service terms and complete the submission instructions before shipping. The announcement confirms the reopening schedule; it does not confirm acceptance of an individual order. Use the actual submission flow to establish whether your cards can be submitted under the regional option you intend to use.

How much does PSA Value cost in each region?

PSA Value’s announced grading fee depends on the submission region, with separate prices in U.S. dollars, Canadian dollars, euros and yen. The U.S. fee is $39.99 per card, with an estimated turnaround of 90–100 business days . These are grading fees, not complete delivered costs.

RegionCurrencyAnnounced fee per cardEstimated turnaround
United StatesUSD$39.9990–100 business days
CanadaCAD$56.99 Not specified
EuropeEUR€39.99 Not specified
JapanJPY¥5,980120 business days

Source: PSA’s Value reopening announcement. Turnaround figures are estimates rather than promised completion dates; the U.S. estimate should not be applied to Canadian or European submissions.

The U.S. service lists a $500 maximum insured value . That is a service limit, not a promise that a submitted card is worth that amount. It also does not establish equivalent insured-value limits in other currencies.

For budgeting, use the regional grading fee as the starting point and check the order’s final total before submitting. The table does not establish shipping charges, taxes, membership conditions or minimum-submission requirements. Comparing the listed fees alone therefore does not establish which region offers the lowest total submission cost.

How does Value compare with Standard and Priority?

Illustration of bright holographic cards beside packaging, rising coin stacks and shrinking hourglasses.
Illustration: AI-generated

Value has the lowest listed U.S. grading fee and the longest estimated turnaround among these services. Standard and Priority cost more and carry shorter published processing estimates, according to PSA’s U.S. pricing page at the October 31, 2026 cutoff . The choice depends on how much timing matters to your submission and whether your card qualifies for Value.

U.S. serviceGrading fee per cardEstimated turnaround
Value$39.99 90–100 business days
Standard$59.99 70–80 business days
Priority$79.99 50–60 business days

Subtracting the published grading fees puts Value $20 per card below Standard and $40 below Priority . Those differences describe the grading charge alone. The turnaround ranges describe estimated processing times, not promised completion dates for an individual order.

Eligibility comes before speed: PSA’s Value reopening announcement specifies a $500 maximum insured value for the U.S. service . A card outside that limit should not be budgeted as a Value submission simply because its owner can accept the longer wait.

For an eligible card with no firm return deadline, Value offers a lower grading expense in exchange for a longer published wait. Collectors working toward a sale, gift or collection deadline can weigh Standard or Priority’s shorter estimates against their higher fees. Paying for a shorter estimate should still leave room for uncertainty; it does not establish that a particular card will arrive by a chosen date.

What does PSA’s backlog mean for new Value orders?

New PSA Value orders enter behind submissions already at PSA, so a shrinking backlog does not establish a completion date for an individual card. PSA says reopening Value leaves existing customers’ delivery estimates unchanged (source: PSA’s reopening announcement).

The PSA backlog tracker records the following dated snapshots of units awaiting processing:

  • July 28, 2026: 12.4 million units .
  • October 6, 2026: 8.2 million units .
  • October 20, 2026: 7.2 million units .

The cited snapshot is October 20, not a live October 31 count. Calculated from the tracker figures, the decline since July 28 is 5.2 million units, approximately 41.9% . That measures the overall queue’s reduction; it does not show where a particular submission sits or when its grading will finish.

“New Value orders will be processed following orders currently at PSA” — PSA, service operator (source: PSA’s reopening announcement).

For collectors already waiting, the practical distinction is between reopening submissions and changing an existing order’s schedule. PSA’s statement preserves the latter: accepting new Value orders does not itself revise the delivery estimate attached to a submission already in its possession.

For new submissions, the published turnaround estimates use business days, not consecutive calendar days. They are estimates rather than guaranteed completion dates, and PSA says submission volume can change them. A falling backlog therefore provides context for the reopening, but it cannot serve as a countdown to a card’s return.

Is PSA Value Bulk reopening too?

PSA has not announced a reopening date for Value Bulk in its Value service announcement. Value’s return does not mean every suspended Value tier has resumed; collectors waiting for bulk submissions still need a separate update. Both PSA’s announcement and Bleacher Nation’s coverage distinguish the reopening from a full restoration of services.

The pause began June 2, 2026, according to PSA’s backlog tracker, making the interval to Value’s October 29 return just under five months .

PSA’s earlier five-million-unit target concerned fully reopening services, rather than a scheduled Value Bulk launch . The latest cited tracker snapshot showed 7.2 million units awaiting processing on October 20, 2026—still above that milestone . That threshold does not establish when Bulk submissions will reopen.

Before submitting, check the applicable regional service against PSA’s current grading options:

  • Confirm that the submission option is available in your region.
  • Check the applicable maximum insured value.
  • Verify the current fee and displayed turnaround estimate.
  • Watch PSA’s dated announcements for a separate Value Bulk update.

If Bulk is the service you need, wait for its own reopening notice before planning a submission around it.

Frequently asked questions

When did PSA announce Value would reopen?

PSA announced on October 28, 2026 that Value would reopen on October 29 at 8 a.m. Pacific in the United States, Canada, Europe and Japan . See PSA’s reopening announcement.

Why does PSA Value now cost $7 more?

Heavy reports a former fee of $32.99, compared with the announced $39.99 fee—an increase of $7, or approximately 21.2% . PSA’s reopening announcement does not specify a reason for the increase or identify an added service benefit tied to it.

What does the $39.99 PSA Value service include?

The U.S. Value service costs $39.99 per card, has a $500 maximum insured value and lists an estimated turnaround of 90–100 business days . It also includes standard front-and-back images of the graded card, according to PSA’s grading service page. The insured-value limit is not a promised card valuation, and the turnaround is an estimate.

Will new Value orders delay cards already at PSA?

PSA says new Value orders will follow orders already at the company and that reopening will not change existing customers’ delivery estimates. Those estimates are not guaranteed completion dates.

Has PSA announced a Value Bulk reopening date?

As of October 31, 2026, PSA’s Value reopening announcement gives no reopening date for Value Bulk . Bleacher Nation’s coverage also distinguishes Value’s return from the still-pending return of Value Bulk.


Sources: PSA says · PSA · Heavy · PSA backlog tracker · Bleacher Nation’s coverage